She asked him why did he not write out his thoughts.

She asked him why did he not write out his thoughts.  For what, he asked her, with careful scorn.  To compete with phrasemongers, incapable of thinking consecutively for sixty seconds?  To submit himself to the criticisms of an obtuse middle class which entrusted its morality to policemen and its fine arts to impresarios?  
– James Joyce, A Painful Case

The above is a cultural reaction to which many of us can no doubt relate.  Joyce seems (again) particularly prescient, as we find that a thought lasting longer than 60 seconds is a terribly rare and precious commodity in our brave new millennium.  Of course, as Joyce’s idealist discovers, the ivory purity of self-imposed exile is neither satisfying nor free of consequence.

So hey guess what I decided to blog.  Original, I know.  I find myself increasingly frustrated with the very poor quality of analysis and discourse in the public sphere, which, thankfully, does not make me unique.  I don’t flatter myself to think I can change this, but I suppose that I must make my own case for deep analysis and applied reason, with the goal of greater insight.

If you’re reading this initial post, you are most likely a friend of mine already.  So I hope you’ll forgive me when I don’t post in the most regular fashion.  I’ll do my best, and I will avoid filler.

Feel free to leave a shoutout in the comments.

Aaron

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “She asked him why did he not write out his thoughts.

  1. Yay! Looking forward to a better quality of analysis and discourse in the public sphere… will it be politics, arts or management, or all of the above?

  2. Marc, thanks for stopping by! All of the above. I just read an article on the hubris of the G20 nations in their claim that they’ve deflected the financial crisis. http://bit.ly/4Cinew Prime candidate for a longer entry.

  3. Hello Aaron,

    Great idea – I am really looking forward to your thoughts!

    Best,
    Joseph

  4. Chris Engel

    “Shout…shout….let it all out! These are the things I can do without, come on….I’m talking to you, come on….”

  5. Hey, Chris! Welcome to my blog. I hope you like it. I hear you have a new, super-fun boss…

Leave a Reply

